Soldak Entertainment Forums

Soldak Entertainment Forums (http://www.soldak.com/forums/index.php)
-   Drox Operative bugs (http://www.soldak.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Multiplayer desync? (http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33983)

Exgene 09-24-2014 02:49 PM

Multiplayer desync?
 
Hello,

First of all, I want to say great job on the game, I have spent (way too much) time on it already.

One issue a friend and I have been experiencing however while playing LAN games (it happened repeatedly):

Although we could connect and fly around together in the starting area, sector related things would be out of sync (sector names, sector types, as well as layout on the map).

I would go to a given area, tell him the name - and he couldn't find it. I thought he was just playing with me - or being dense so I walked over to his workstation - and his map is completely different! different sector names, different layout, etc.

We flew side-by-side through a gate to another sector (so he wouldnt get lost)- worked fine for me, however his client thinks he is in a dimensional pocket (just a regular system for me) - which messes up his map and everything. We are still connected though, we see eachother's ships - just his client think's he's in a dimensional pocket as opposed to a normal area.

The only thing I can think of that could have a contributing factor to this (as I waited for a bit and searched to see if anyone had posted anything similar) is the fact that he's on the Windows version, and I am on the Linux version (both through steam).

Anybody ever seen anything similar to this?

Sadly - due to the fact that I waited before posting, I no longer have save files for the night we were LANing the game.

Shadow 09-24-2014 05:32 PM

The Linux/Windows thing isn't supposed to matter. Do either of you have any mods installed?

Exgene 09-24-2014 05:38 PM

Yes, I imagined the Linux <-> Windows thing would be a non-issue, just mentioned it for a shot at completeness.

No mods - pretty much fresh installations (no expansion at the time either - though I've since purchased it since I like the game so much)

Sorry for posting an issue that I can't further test at the moment (I hate it when people do exactly that to me), I just wanted to throw it out there and see if it rang any bells.

At such point as I can get together with my friend again and re-test I will document it better and try to grab some savefiles. (side note, will I need to disable my expansion to play with him now, since he hasnt purchased it yet?)

Shadow 09-25-2014 08:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Exgene (Post 76051)
At such point as I can get together with my friend again and re-test I will document it better and try to grab some savefiles. (side note, will I need to disable my expansion to play with him now, since he hasnt purchased it yet?)

Yes, you will need to disable the expansion to play with him (or he needs to buy the expansion).

gamer 04-03-2020 04:03 PM

Hi,

I am experiencing the very same problem on Linux/Windows (from GOG).

Interestingly the names of planets and the stars are the same, but on whoever joins the game the name of the the system and the star do not match. So that's where it is off.

We tried both expansion and non-expansion. We also made sure we both have the latest version, redownloading from GOG.

Could it be that there is some minor difference in the compilation or some data file where some synced ID or something does not end up matching?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.