Soldak Entertainment Forums

Soldak Entertainment Forums (http://www.soldak.com/forums/index.php)
-   Drox Operative bugs (http://www.soldak.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Game fails to start (http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37417)

Rigel 01-06-2018 06:12 PM

Game fails to start
 
Since I've had this in my Steam library and I don't remember it (despite Steam saying I've played 4 hours) I thought I'd give it a whirl. Unfortunately, the game won't start.

Here's the entire log file:
Code:

Safe and dependant systems initialized
Database parsed

At first it was doing some funky screen mode switching but I set the resolution in my config file to my laptop's native resolution (1080p). Now the screen doesn't switch modes but the game still won't start. I've tried toggling both fullscreen and borderless window with no result.

I'm running Windows 10 build 171213-1610, 64 bit.

Any advice?

Shadow 01-08-2018 11:53 AM

A few things that might cause problems and you might want to turn off: ATI tray tool's on-screen-display, triple buffering, and the Evolve client.

Rigel 01-10-2018 09:02 AM

I have an NVidia card, triple buffering is turned off, and I don't even have Evolve installed.

Any other ideas? It's obviously crashing after parsing the database, but I don't know why.

Shadow 01-10-2018 12:09 PM

Well if the logfile is accurate that means GameShared::init is crashing because right after that the version would print. Are you running the latest version (1.043)? Also, you could go into your user.cfg and change the value for logfile to 2 to make the logfile more accurate (it will save the file after every print). If you get it working you will want to change this back to 1.

The next thing of consequence is the graphics stuff getting setup. If this is causing a problem, you might want to update your graphics drivers and see if that helps.

ArtieFinnigan 04-01-2020 12:11 PM

having the same problem, drivers up to date.
At first I could log into the game, then I changed the resolution and other graphics parameters for highest quality. then the resolution did not scale with the monitor so I couldn't start the game. I decided to reinstall and since then the game doesn't even load up. Any suggestions? win 10б Nvidia GTX 1650

Shadow 04-01-2020 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ArtieFinnigan (Post 85926)
having the same problem, drivers up to date.
At first I could log into the game, then I changed the resolution and other graphics parameters for highest quality. then the resolution did not scale with the monitor so I couldn't start the game. I decided to reinstall and since then the game doesn't even load up. Any suggestions? win 10б Nvidia GTX 1650

Sounds like you need to delete your user.cfg file to reset all of the settings. This file will most likely be in C:\Users\YOUR USER NAME\AppData\Local\DroxOperative\User (AppData is probably a hidden directory).

ArtieFinnigan 04-02-2020 06:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadow (Post 85927)
Sounds like you need to delete your user.cfg file to reset all of the settings. This file will most likely be in C:\Users\YOUR USER NAME\AppData\Local\DroxOperative\User (AppData is probably a hidden directory).

Unfortunately, I don't have a user.cfg file there, i reinstalled the game a couple of times and deleted the drox folder, it still won't launch

ArtieFinnigan 04-02-2020 07:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadow (Post 85927)
Sounds like you need to delete your user.cfg file to reset all of the settings. This file will most likely be in C:\Users\YOUR USER NAME\AppData\Local\DroxOperative\User (AppData is probably a hidden directory).

Maybe you could send me a copy of a user.cfg, would that work?

Shadow 04-02-2020 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ArtieFinnigan (Post 85933)
Maybe you could send me a copy of a user.cfg, would that work?

It might, but if you have run the game once before and we can't find the user.cfg file, then we are probably looking in the wrong place.

What OS are you using?

ArtieFinnigan 04-02-2020 12:07 PM

I deleted the game and game files and reinstalled, after which it never properly launched again, I reinstalled and deleted the local data folder a couple of times in total

I'm using Win 10


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.