Soldak Entertainment Forums

Soldak Entertainment Forums (http://www.soldak.com/forums/index.php)
-   Kivi's Underworld modding (http://www.soldak.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Kivi Mod SDK available (http://www.soldak.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1157)

Shadow 11-14-2008 06:47 PM

Kivi Mod SDK available
 
The SDK for making mods for Kivi's Underworld is now available. You can download it from the Kivi's Underworld mod page.

DaveyJJ 11-16-2008 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadow (Post 6584)
The SDK for making mods for Kivi's Underworld is now available. You can download it from the Kivi's Underworld mod page.

I noticed ... "The mod cannot contain any of the material from the game or demo (this means no material from the game or demo can be distributed with the mod)"

That means we can't make scenarios/basic levels for the public at all using the existing assets? We have to make completely new everything? Yes, it's a snowy (!) Sunday and I'm confused.

Shadow 11-16-2008 06:56 PM

That mostly just means that your mod zips can't directly contain Soldak textures, models, sounds, etc. You don't really want to do this anyways since it would uselessly make your mod a lot bigger.

You can freely reference any of the assets already in the game. For example, placing textures and objects that we created is perfectly fine. Making a new model file that references model data and sounds that already exist is also perfectly fine. Most normal modding will be perfectly fine.

I hope this makes sense.

BTW, I really dislike that we have to have any legalese crap in our EULAs, but it's kind of fact of life these days in the US at least. I wouldn't worry too much about it. We love mods and would never get upset unless you were really abusing the game in some way.

DaveyJJ 11-17-2008 01:42 PM

OK, that makes perfect sense now.

Qwerytykeys 01-10-2009 02:33 AM

Do mods work with the demo? I can't seem to get the Poison Mage example to work.

Shadow 01-10-2009 10:48 AM

No mods won't work with the demo.

Jude 01-11-2009 05:21 AM

Are you going to make a version of the mod-maker that will work with Mac OS X?
Jude

Shadow 01-12-2009 01:21 PM

Everything should work on the Mac except the model exporter/converter and the font tool. Those I don't plan on converting to the Mac at the moment.

user99 06-01-2014 12:35 PM

screen effects
 
Is there a way to add a custom screen shader to the game as a mod? Some games like Gothic 3 have graphic mods including new shaders. I'd like to add the SSAO (at least).

Also NVidia driver has built-in SSAO, but it is not compatible with the Soldak games.:(

Shadow 06-03-2014 10:39 AM

No, there is no way to do custom screen shaders.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.