Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Kivi's Underworld  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-21-2012, 09:29 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,781
Default

I also tried comparing DoP's performance in the OSX app vs the Windows version in Wine. DoP gets 30 fps max in the OSX app and 60 fps+ under Wine. Not as serious a problem as in DC which gets down to ~8 fps in the OSX app, but still a problem.

It appears there's some kind of slowdown issue in all of the mac versions (that's perhaps exclusive to Lion -- I can't tell). I'm not crazy about running the games in Wine either because about Wine crashes the game about 1 out of 8 runs.

If you'd like, I can take a look at the code to try and figure out what the deal is, particularly if you don't have the time for it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-27-2012, 09:25 PM
Tegramon Tegramon is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

I just bought DC and DW.
Under OS X Lion with an 9600 GT GPU the performance is atrocious
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-28-2012, 06:27 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegramon View Post
I just bought DC and DW.
Under OS X Lion with an 9600 GT GPU the performance is atrocious
I highly recommend intalling the windows version under Wine if you know how. If you don't know how, it should be easier to install under Wineskin Winery.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-29-2012, 10:14 AM
Tegramon Tegramon is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Installed it.

A little better, but still a bad performance.

I tried an older engine, I get around 30-40 fps but not constantly. It is playable though.
You guys should fix the game for Mac

Last edited by Tegramon : 01-29-2012 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-29-2012, 01:58 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,781
Default

What's your system like? I get excellent performance with the Windows version, but it's a 2011 MBP.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-29-2012, 02:23 PM
Tegramon Tegramon is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluddy View Post
What's your system like? I get excellent performance with the Windows version, but it's a 2011 MBP.
I got a late 2009 MBP with Dual Core 2.8 Ghz, 4 GB RAM and NVIDIA 9600 GT running OS X Lion 10.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-29-2012, 09:33 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegramon View Post
I got a late 2009 MBP with Dual Core 2.8 Ghz, 4 GB RAM and NVIDIA 9600 GT running OS X Lion 10.7.2.
Strange. That should do the trick. Do you know how to display frames per second?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:38 AM
Tegramon Tegramon is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Yes.
It is around 20 fps after 5-10 mins of play.
As soon as you start you get a clean 40-60 but it only lasts for 2-3 mins.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-06-2012, 09:14 AM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,781
Default

Strange, with Wine I really get great fps, and it doesn't drop.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-15-2012, 08:47 PM
Sedlex Sedlex is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Default

I've had massive performance issues in Mac after moving to the expansion - it was all fine under plain vanilla.

I tried running the windows version under wine, which was a (very) provisional solution. It still gets bogged down pretty quickly.

I did notice something in the windows-under-wine version though: it seems that some of the quality settings in the expansion can't actually be changed... the sliders lead to no result. I had to take screenshots to be sure, but it appears for instance that no amount of fiddling with quality settings allows me to change the texture detail on the models or environment.

Any fix for this? Otherwise I might just ditch the expac and go back to simple-din.

Mind you, if these villagers don't figure out some way to feed themselves soon, I might just do that anyway, but I digress.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2014 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.