Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Drox Operative > Drox Operative bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2013, 03:34 PM
unimural unimural is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Default Game freezes while in map interface

When playing the game, opening and using the map interface often (but not always) cause the game to freeze/become unresponsive for a 5 - 10 seconds.

I can reliably replicate this simply by starting the new game and alternating between system and galaxy map. I uninstalled the game, and re-installed it on my SSD drive, but the issue persists. Creating a new ship did not help either.

I have no issues while in the normal game view. I have played for roughly 4 hours. I have experinced on crash, but that might have been due to alt tabbing and trying to see if something else was using the computers resources.

I bought Drox Operative from Gamers Gate, and I have installed the 1.031 patch. I have experienced this issue both with patched and unpatched (1.000) version of the game.

I do have Avira antivirus running, which I suppose might cause the issue, but I'd rather not deactivate it even as a test.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2013, 05:16 PM
Tuidjy's Avatar
Tuidjy Tuidjy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La La Land (California)
Posts: 847
Default

My first instinct was that you have little memory, and that your HDD powers down and needs to spin up when Dorx needs to reload the textures after going to the map screen... But if you have a SSD and have checked resource utilization, clearly that's not the case.

Have you tried running a performance monitor, plotting the processor utilization, page faults, % disk time and disk queue, and looking at the graph after you experience the period of unresponsiveness? Whenever I have a responsiveness problem, that's my first step. Practically every time, I get a pretty good idea where the problem lies. (Ok, I plot other things like network traffic, but this can't be the problem in your case)
__________________
No good deed goes unpunished...

Last edited by Tuidjy : 11-11-2013 at 05:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2013, 06:52 PM
ScrObot ScrObot is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 240
Default

FYI I'm running Avira and haven't had any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2013, 05:29 AM
unimural unimural is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I did look a bit further into a couple of weeks ago. The unresponsiveness coincided with disk (write, iirc) queue spiking up by a fair bit. But I couldn't identify any possible causes for it, and my system seems to work normally otherwise.

Perhaps there's a latent issue on my computer that Drox brings about. Or perhaps there's some strange hardware/software issue specific to my setup. Regardless, for now it seems playing Drox isn't feasible on this machine at least.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2013, 03:33 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,267
Default

You could try to update your graphics drivers. There's really not much going on while that screen is up.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2014, 05:34 PM
10th 10th is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Default

I have the same problem. Map randomly freezes and unfreezes after a few (~5-10) seconds. Short peeks at the map don't cause any problems but extended consulting of the map will always result in this behavior.

Latest non-beta catalyst, HD 6970, i7-2600k and 8GB RAM should be more than sufficient to play this game.

Normal gameplay without consulting the map doesn't cause any problems whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2014, 05:23 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,267
Default

Does it have the problem on the sector map, system map, or both? Do you have monitor sync on or off?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:49 PM
10th 10th is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Default

Monitor sync is on. Problem only occurs on system map.

Highest graphic details and 1920x1080 screen resolution.

Game version is the latest Steam release.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2015, 08:21 AM
unimural unimural is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Just wanted to let everyone know, the issue no longer occurs for me with version 1.042. No idea what the cause was, but I am very glad the game works now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.