Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse modding
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2017, 07:47 AM
Hoodoo Hoodoo is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Post Custom class -Help needed

G'day everyone

I've read through various threads on custom classes and with some tinkering cobbled together a custom class, or rather a partial one, consists of two tabs to be used in conjunction with hybrid.

I know the class does work as is since i did override demonhunter skilltrees via .gdb to test, skills didn't work though.. When i purchased a skill it told me i didn't have it, I suspect it's because commands didn't get called.

Now.. Problem one is that i'm not sure how to add a button linking to my class amongst all the others. I tried but it didn't show up, Probably have to make room for it but really don't know how, Here's what i've got.

ModNewCharacter.mnu
Code:
mergeWith NewCharacter

Button
{
	text "Custom"
	textAlignment center
	position 70.0 225.0
	size 120.0 25.0
	draworder 4.0
	color White
	canClick 1
	addCommand "updateNewCharacterClass ClassCustom"
	addCommand "setUserVar HybridClass 0"
	addCommand "setuservar NewCharActionAnim newCharCustom"

	selectedCondition UserVarMatchesDefault
	UserVar PlayerClassBase ClassCustom
}
ModPickSkillTree.mnu
Code:
mergeWith PickSkillTree

Widget
{
	position 370.0 305.0
	texture Textures/UI/marbleborder.tga
	drawOrder -0.5
	size 105.0 20.0
	userVar FakePlayerClass ClassCustom
	hideCondition UserVarMatchesDefault
	color "0.75 0.75 0.75"
}

Widget
{
	position 370.0 305.0
	texture Textures/UI/marbleborder_selected.tga
	drawOrder -0.5
	size 105.0 20.0
	userVar FakePlayerClass ClassCustom
	showCondition UserVarMatchesDefault
}

Widget
{
	position 370.0 305.0
	size 105.0 20.0
	text "Custom"
	textAlignment center
	canClick 1
	addCommand "setFakePlayerClass ClassCustom"
	addCommand "setUserVar FakePlayerClass ClassCustom"
}
Problem two, I'd like to use a non-human model for my player, Is there a way to add human animations to a model? Would also like for armor to still show up over the model.

Problem three, i made a pet summon skill that i also made a skin for but didn't find a way to convert .tga to .skn


Tried consulting sdk but documentation on many fuctions is not in there


~Thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2017, 12:10 PM
Hoodoo Hoodoo is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Default

Happy new year everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2018, 03:45 PM
Hoodoo Hoodoo is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Default

Another question, i want to make it so that all npcs can go renegade, can i simply do this;

ModBaseNPC override BaseNPC
CanGoRenegade 1

Or do i have to use addsTo since it doesnt have that line by default? Can i simply use BaseNPC or do i have to apply it to each and every town npc?


Do added/overriden values in Base take higher priority to those in archetypes?

Last edited by Hoodoo : 01-01-2018 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 07:55 PM
Hoodoo Hoodoo is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Default

Any help would be great..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 09:09 PM
Hoodoo Hoodoo is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Default

Well this has been helpful~
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2018, 01:39 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,586
Default

Sorry lots of questions at the same time are difficult to answer.

1) Your UI stuff mostly looks fine off hand. Is that file in the Assets/UI directory? It's possible that you have just placed the widgets somewhere where it gets covered. You could increase your draw order to a much higher number to see if that is the problem.

2) The game isn't setup to use animations from one model on a different model.

3) skn files are just text files telling the game which texture/shader to use for which surface on the model. Most models only have 1 surface though.

4) You would probably want to use overrides instead of addsTo, but I'm not sure the code is going to let any random NPC go renegade.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Patreon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.