Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Old > Demon War BETA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:10 PM
scottossington scottossington is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Default Cant get beta to open

So I have this openAL32.dll which apparently is to do with the sound card. I have all my drivers updated. I am curious about one thing. I was wondering why there are two din folders in my program directory? should i put the two of them together? Is there some special way to install the game? thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:35 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,019
Default

The expansion expects to be installed into the same directory as the main game.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:49 PM
scottossington scottossington is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Default Oh boy now this

so i uninstalled reinstalled patched it to the latest beta patch. I then installed the beta which it installed into a seperate folder in the app folder in win7. I uninstalled everything then reinstalled making sure that the xpac went into the original din folder. I opened the game and am now getting the .dll error Any thoughts? My audio drivers are up to date.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:18 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,019
Default

What exactly does the error say?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2010, 03:59 PM
scottossington scottossington is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Default error message

the message says

the program cant start because OpenAL32.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:20 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,019
Default

That's strange. The main game includes OpenAL32.dll in the directory where you installed the game. Is that file in that directory and is the exe that you are running in the same directory?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:41 PM
scottossington scottossington is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Maybe i should uninstall everything and try again. Yes the game and the....hmm it is in a different folder so I moved the exe out of the folder as well as the folder that said expansion into the main din folder. I now do not get the .dll error message but now I get the barbarian monster one even though I have upgraded to the latest beta patch
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:49 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,019
Default

The barbarian error means you have the 1.011 exe but the 1.010 data (specifically 1.010 of assets003.zip), so it seems that something still got installed into the wrong directory (probably the patch).
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:57 PM
scottossington scottossington is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Default

okay i am going to take everything out and reinstall where are the game saves in windows 7?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:59 PM
scottossington scottossington is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Default

oh just so you know I am really enjoying the game. the graphics are kind of meh, but for one person doing all of this is amazing and it is totally addictive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.