Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Old > Drox Operative BETA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-14-2012, 06:04 PM
Eduardo X Eduardo X is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Sorry to make a new post rather than editing the last one, but that one isn't up yet.
One more suggestion: is it possible to have structures revolve around the sun? It may be too much of a hassle, but it'd be neat if planets had orbits around their suns.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-14-2012, 06:07 PM
snow snow is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
There are some options on the game options screen that you might want to play with. One turns off the follow the mouse stuff.

It might just be things loading for the first time they are used. Does it continue to stutter or does it get better over time?
It gets worse in combat or when interacting.

Setting CPU affinity to lock the game onto one core seems to have fix it for the most part though.
That seriously needs looking at..

However, the sound does seem crackley now - though that could be by design.. I'm not 100% sure.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-14-2012, 06:11 PM
snow snow is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Actually - scratch that, that wasn't what did it. Setting the game to run fullscreen was what stopped the pauses - I was running in windowed mode. (a full-screen, windowed mode would be most ideal though)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-14-2012, 06:32 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eduardo X View Post
That leads to quests... I currently have 2 quests to kill boss ships in one solar system, but dammit I can't find them. I've spent probably 45 minutes to an hour flying around this one system looking for the bosses. I don't think this is working as intended. Maybe they're actually outside the solar system. Might that happen?

That's pretty much it. I have questions about the amount of available components. How can I add more? That's not feedback, though, just questions. I'm really enjoying this, as expected. Thanks for making another enjoyable game!
Some times it's hard to find bosses especially, if they move around much.

If you increase your Command with crew points you will eventually get a ship upgrade. Most, but not all, ship upgrades give you more slots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow View Post
Actually - scratch that, that wasn't what did it. Setting the game to run fullscreen was what stopped the pauses - I was running in windowed mode. (a full-screen, windowed mode would be most ideal though)
So running in a window gets you lots of pauses? That's strange, I almost always run in a window.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-14-2012, 07:18 PM
torikamal's Avatar
torikamal torikamal is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. Louis Park, MN (basically Minneapolis)
Posts: 258
Default

I actually have the same issue with running in a window. Full-screen pretty much resolves choppiness.

Not sure if this is adding to the complication or not, but my main monitor is 1920x1200, and my secondary is 1280x1024.
__________________
-TK
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:07 PM
Roswitha Roswitha is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 693
Default

My mini-map shows my ship, but nothing else. Does anybody else have this problem?

EDIT:

Okay, it's not that it doesn't show anything. It's that it has a teeny, tiny range. Look at the attachment. I've circled my ship. The planet just went out of range and dropped off the minimap. You can still see markers for the escort ships.



EDIT:

If this is a feature and I need to get a bigger scanner (or whatever) you might put a green ring around the useful part of the minimap.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg minimap.jpg (81.9 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by Roswitha : 06-14-2012 at 08:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:37 PM
PixelLord's Avatar
PixelLord PixelLord is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roswitha View Post
My mini-map shows my ship, but nothing else. Does anybody else have this problem?

EDIT:

Okay, it's not that it doesn't show anything. It's that it has a teeny, tiny range. Look at the attachment. I've circled my ship. The planet just went out of range and dropped off the minimap. You can still see markers for the escort ships.
It really does work differently in Drox than in the previous games. In order to increase the range, you will need to find and add ship components that do so. This is how many ship components will work in Drox to improve ship capabilities.
__________________
Stephen A. Hornback
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:40 PM
Castruccio's Avatar
Castruccio Castruccio is online now
Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 530
Default

I still haven't found an item to increase my ship speed or decrease my turn radius, and it is making me sad.

Maybe this could be a part of gaining command points. Each time you get enough command points to get a new ship, that ship handles a bit better.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:49 PM
PixelLord's Avatar
PixelLord PixelLord is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Castruccio View Post
I still haven't found an item to increase my ship speed or decrease my turn radius, and it is making me sad.

Maybe this could be a part of gaining command points. Each time you get enough command points to get a new ship, that ship handles a bit better.
Usually most colonies will have a ramjet drive or two (though they don't have to have them - which would be bad luck). You can equip your heavy items slots with 2 ramjets until you come across something better (a ramjet with a lot more thrust or a nuclear drive). So you might not be able to have that nuclear power plant until later when you can just have the one drive. Also, keep in mind that, if you upgrade your ship too quickly, your thrust speed will slow due to the increase in your ship's weight. Sometimes it's best to wait until your thrust is past where you'd like it to be before you upgrade.
__________________
Stephen A. Hornback

Last edited by PixelLord : 06-14-2012 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:58 PM
Castruccio's Avatar
Castruccio Castruccio is online now
Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PixelLord View Post
Usually most colonies will have a ramjet drive or two (though they don't have to have them - which would be bad luck). You can equip your heavy items slots with 2 ramjets until you come across something better (a ramjet with a lot more thrust or a nuclear drive). So you might not be able to have that nuclear power plant until later when you can just have the one drive. Also, keep in mind that, if you upgrade your ship too quickly, your thrust speed will slow due to the increase in your ship's weight. Sometimes it's best to wait until your thrust is past where you'd like it to be before you upgrade.
So the the tool tip for max speed says: "the max speed of your ship is usually the thrust your engines and thrusters provide divided by the weight of your ship." Now, it says my ship weight is 50 on a ship I just created, my thrust is 63 and my max speed is 126. How is this calculated according to the equation in the tool tip?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.