Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse modding
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2011, 03:19 AM
ebarstad ebarstad is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 66
Default Changing NPC Outline Colour

I was trying out Heron's UI mod and one of the things I really like about it is that it outlines NPCs in Black (instead of blue, red, cyan, white, etc.) when you mouse over them. However, he did that by actually editing the white.tga texture, which affected other elements of the UI.

Is there a way to make all the outlines black without actually editing the white.tga file? Shaders/system.sdr has code related to outlines, but I'm not sure if that's what I want and, if so, how I'd override that file.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2011, 01:06 AM
ebarstad ebarstad is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 66
Default

Ok, so that IS the file I want to override -- I edited it directly and got the black outlines I wanted. Now, how do I create a mod that overrides that file so that I don't have to change the file directly? I tried creating a mod_black_outlines.zip file which included a Shaders folder and a file called mod_black_outlines.sdr. In the file I put:

Code:
OutlineBlack overrides OutlineCyan
{
	cull Front
	deformVerts Offset 1.0
	highlightsSurface 1

	{
		texture Textures/white.tga
		colorGen OriginAndConstant Black
	}
}

OutlineBlack overrides OutlineGreen
{
	cull Front
	deformVerts Offset 1.0
	highlightsSurface 1

	{
		texture Textures/white.tga
		colorGen OriginAndConstant Black
	}
}

OutlineBlack overrides OutlineWhite
{
	cull Front
	deformVerts Offset 1.0
	highlightsSurface 1

	{
		texture Textures/white.tga
		colorGen OriginAndConstant Black
	}
}

OutlineBlack overrides OutlineOrange
{
	cull Front
	deformVerts Offset 1.0
	highlightsSurface 1

	{
		texture Textures/white.tga
		colorGen OriginAndConstant Black
	}
}

OutlineBlack overrides OutlineBlue
{
	cull Front
	deformVerts Offset 1.0
	highlightsSurface 1

	{
		texture Textures/white.tga
		colorGen OriginAndConstant Black
	}
}

OutlineBlack overrides OutlineRed
{
	cull Front
	deformVerts Offset 1.0
	highlightsSurface 1

	{
		texture Textures/white.tga
		colorGen OriginAndConstant Black
	}
}
However, this didn't work. Basically, I just copied this text from system.sdr and added "OutlineBlack overrides" to each function. Any tips would be welcome.

Also, is there a way to make it so the outlines are always on, not just when you mouse over an NPC?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2011, 09:33 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,316
Default

Right now I think you would have to replace the entire file and the overrides stuff only works with database stuff.

You can't directly add an outline to everyone. You could probably do it with some convoluted way with a status effect that was on everyone that had an effect that used the outline shader.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2011, 10:23 AM
ebarstad ebarstad is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 66
Default

Sorry for being dense, but are you saying I'd have to overwrite the file in the assets003.zip or can I still change the outline via a mod and I'm just not doing it correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:15 AM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebarstad View Post
Sorry for being dense, but are you saying I'd have to overwrite the file in the assets003.zip or can I still change the outline via a mod and I'm just not doing it correctly?
You never want to change anything in assets003.zip. Just create another zip file with the same directory structure as assets003.zip and put the single, modified file there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:12 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,316
Default

Yeah, what Bluddy said. When there are multiple copies of a file with the same name, the game will first use the one that is a normal file (not in a zip) and then it will use which ever one is in the zip file highest alphabetically (z before a).
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:55 PM
ebarstad ebarstad is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 66
Default

Thanks Bluddy and Shadow. One of the problems I was having was that my zip looked like this:

mod.zip / mod folder / Shaders / system.sdr

Once I realized that I had to remove the mod folder, the modified file worked just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:25 PM
Hannes-Erich's Avatar
Hannes-Erich Hannes-Erich is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebarstad View Post
Thanks Bluddy and Shadow. One of the problems I was having was that my zip looked like this:

mod.zip / mod folder / Shaders / system.sdr

Once I realized that I had to remove the mod folder, the modified file worked just fine.
For the less-savvy among us, could you (or someone, anyone) make a mod file available for download that we can drop in our assets folder?

I just bought DC yesterday and am quite enjoying it, but I would prefer slightly less conspicuous outlines around creatures I'm fighting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:32 PM
ebarstad ebarstad is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 66
Default

Sure, here it is. Goes here (Win 7):

C:\Program Files (x86)\Din's Curse\Assets
Attached Files
File Type: zip mod_black_outlines.zip (628 Bytes, 61 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:43 PM
Hannes-Erich's Avatar
Hannes-Erich Hannes-Erich is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebarstad View Post
Sure, here it is. Goes here (Win 7):

C:\Program Files (x86)\Din's Curse\Assets
Thanks, that was fast!

Just hopped in-game and gave it a whirl. WOW! I wasn't expecting it to make that much difference, but it makes a WORLD of difference. The black outlines give the NPCs and creatures an impressively illustrated, faux cell-shaded look. It looks great. Combat feels much more immersive now that I have a more detailed look at what I'm fighting. (Found myself zooming in for a closer look, heh.) Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.