Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Kivi's Underworld > Kivi's Underworld bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2008, 02:40 PM
Obelix Obelix is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Alt-Tab issue

Relatively new to Kivi since I just downloaded it today and haven't played it much yet. I ran into an issue almost right away when I paused the tutorial to alt-tab out to answer an IM. once I came back, all the quest windows and other text screens were blank. even the escape/game menu was blank. I had to use alt-F4 to close the program. I had noticed similar issues in Depths where it messes with text areas and item images. Is this something that is just a factor of the underlying game engine and can't be fixed, or is it something you can adjust/fix? I tend to have my gaming sessions interrupted briefly by other things and being able to pause the game, go take care of something, then come back and continue. Having a problem like this makes it really hard to complete areas and levels. Any help?

Thanks for what looks to be a cool game...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2008, 05:52 PM
Kruztee's Avatar
Kruztee Kruztee is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 472
Default

I have some alt-tab issues with both Kivi and Depths as well.

Specifically, my problem is that after alt-tabbing back to the game, my display is stretched over my display horizontally, such that only about 1/2 of the screen's width is displayed on my monitor, although the vertical scaling seems unaffected.

I reported this to Shadow (with screenshot, I think), but both games still have this bug from time to time. I can replicate this on both my WinXP PC at 1024x768 and my Vista PC at 1440x900. Wierd.

Anyway, I guess that this was just a long winded way to confirm that both games don't really seem to like alt-tab all that much, occasionally, for me as well.

Could I suggest running in a window? Performance-wise it's not too bad for me, and there are never any errors when re-selecting the game's window as opposed to alt-tab.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2008, 04:23 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,977
Default

Strange. Alt-tab works great for me here on both games. I need it to alt-tab and work well in a window to debug and develop easier in general. I'll take a look at it and see if I can find anything wrong though.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2008, 12:08 AM
torikamal's Avatar
torikamal torikamal is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. Louis Park, MN (basically Minneapolis)
Posts: 258
Default

Obelix and Krustee, what are your video cards? I currently have no problems with DoP or Kivi Alt-Tabbing (though I do encounter that problem with games like Fallout 3, and Mass Effect).

I have an 8800GTX (my bachelor's present to myself since I knew I wouldn't be getting anything that cool once I got married)

I of course don't mean to insult your intelligence, but have you updated to the latest video drivers on your video cards? Peace brothas.
__________________
-TK

Last edited by torikamal : 12-04-2008 at 12:08 AM. Reason: Spelyng
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2008, 11:11 PM
Kruztee's Avatar
Kruztee Kruztee is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 472
Default

My desktop PC has an GeForce 7800GS. A bit of a niche card that I bought a couple of years ago because my old MB has no PCI-e slot. It's probably the best AGP option available. The drivers have been updated very recently to attempt to solve issues with Fallout 3 and the alt-tab issue that I have with that game just like you. I'm not at home at the moment, so I don't have the version number handy, but it was the official Nvidia drivers that were current about 10 days ago.

The laptop uses a GeForce Go 7600 chipset. The drivers are current as of 27/02/2007, and when attempting to update them I am told that the drivers are the most current available. I guess that Nvidia doesn't update drivers for notebook cards very often...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2008, 11:22 PM
torikamal's Avatar
torikamal torikamal is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. Louis Park, MN (basically Minneapolis)
Posts: 258
Default

What sound card do you guys have? I have a super old-school Audigy Platinum.
__________________
-TK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.