Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Depths of Peril > Depths of Peril bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2009, 04:16 PM
nomadpol nomadpol is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Unhappy Startup Problem: Black Screen

Hi! I just downloaded the latest D of P demo. After installing it I tried starting the demo but it just ended up with a black screen with my mouse showing the busy icon. I have the latest sound and graphic drivers; and i tried changing the resolution and stuff but the same thing happens time after time. A black screen.

Any help will be greatly appreciated because i really really want to try out this game. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:26 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,413
Default

That's strange. How long have you let it sit like that? This is when launching the exe itself, not when loading a world or something right?

You could try running the game in a window by finding the cfg file and changing the fullscreen line to 0. Where the cfg file is depends on your OS.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:16 PM
nomadpol nomadpol is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
That's strange. How long have you let it sit like that? This is when launching the exe itself, not when loading a world or something right?

You could try running the game in a window by finding the cfg file and changing the fullscreen line to 0. Where the cfg file is depends on your OS.
Hey Shadow! This is when i'm launching the exe. I tried changing it to windowed mode but it still does the same thing!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:49 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,413
Default

You could try to update your version of DirectX (assuming Windows), that has helped weird problems for people in the past.

What kind of video card do you have? And what OS are you using?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2010, 02:16 PM
preatorian's Avatar
preatorian preatorian is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Default

If it is goes blank then maybe its he video card problem. try to update it's driver or get the latest direct x software.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2010, 11:48 AM
princessmisery's Avatar
princessmisery princessmisery is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hey guys, having the same problem. Used to work fine on Vista Ultimate until I upgraded to Windows 7 Ultimate. Please help, I love this game.

1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:26 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,413
Default

Do you have updated graphics drivers?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.