Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Drox Operative > Invasion of the Ancients
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2014, 02:48 AM
Tuidjy's Avatar
Tuidjy Tuidjy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La La Land (California)
Posts: 847
Default Hardcore, Command Zero, Maintained Prereqs attempt to reach level 100

I still have not reached level 100 with a hardcore/command zero ship, but my excuse is that it is just too easy, so I have not bothered (And those who have not seen my dozen failed attempt may buy that)

So now I will try to take a hardcore ship to level 100 with an extra limitation: I will maintain the prerequisites for each mounted component at all times. If for some reason I lose the prerequisites, I will remove the component.

So here is the first attempt:





__________________
No good deed goes unpunished...

Last edited by Tuidjy : 03-10-2014 at 02:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2014, 09:04 AM
Cryosis Cryosis is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

It's starting to get difficult, I'm level 23 right now. I maxed out helm early which freed up a slot that was dedicated to thrusters. Note the racial shield at level 10 is the same as 15, chipping it made it much better.






Correction, ship lost due to level 25 boss that had a laser that hit for 200...

Last edited by Cryosis : 03-10-2014 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2014, 01:26 PM
Shankar Shankar is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Good work, it seems solid.
I'm trying a full command ship, lvl 21 and 58 command already, its so big lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2014, 06:57 AM
Tuidjy's Avatar
Tuidjy Tuidjy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La La Land (California)
Posts: 847
Default

Level 20, still not dead. One virus is a bit light as armament, but there is enough energy regeneration for it to fire criticals all day long, which is enough to kill even race ships within 5-10 seconds.

__________________
No good deed goes unpunished...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2014, 05:26 PM
Shankar Shankar is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Default

How do you unlock the Infection race?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2014, 07:32 PM
Tuidjy's Avatar
Tuidjy Tuidjy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La La Land (California)
Posts: 847
Default

There are at least two ways.

One requires just luck.

In any sector, take the "Resurrect Race" quest. When you complete it, there is a chance that the resurrected race will be Infection. As you can gather, the chance is not very high.

The other one requires that you are in a sector where the Scavengers are present.

Keep them alive, until a Prion Virus infects one of their planets (If you get tired of waiting, you can speed up the process by allowing raiding quests to go unsolved, and monsters bosses to stay alive)

Then make sure to keep the colony alive, but do not help them cure the virus. (It is strongly recommended that you completely clear all other bad conditions from the planet)

Eventually, the infection will become hereditary, and the Scavengers will ask for help with getting rid of the new subrace. Go look for a rebel ship somewhere in the system, instead. Take their series of quests, which will ask you to deliver guerrilla weapons, robotic troops and what not to the planet. At some point, the Infection will break free of the Scavenger.

Immediately start helping the new Empire. Keep them alive until you win and leave the sector. Note that you cannot win the sector earlier, because that prevents quests from being generated, and you need quests to allow the subrace to emerge.
__________________
No good deed goes unpunished...

Last edited by Tuidjy : 05-24-2014 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:52 PM
MysticVoid 7x9 MysticVoid 7x9 is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Default

last few times I unlocked a subrace all I had to do was make them appear in one of my sectors for them to appear in the list of ships I have. I don't remember having to make them live to the end of any sectors just yet. Is there something that happens if they do live to the end of the sector?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-2014, 10:34 PM
Tuidjy's Avatar
Tuidjy Tuidjy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La La Land (California)
Posts: 847
Default

If they get a planet, you get to fly the ship.

If they survive 'till you leave the sector, they can be a starting race in the naxt sector.

If they are present in the sector, you can get them as crew.
__________________
No good deed goes unpunished...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-2014, 11:23 PM
MysticVoid 7x9 MysticVoid 7x9 is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Default

in that case I think I need to make the sub race that my ship is to appear so I can get some good crew for the slot I have for the mutant crew.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2014, 12:39 AM
Cryosis Cryosis is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Lost my level 13 weapon to a bunch of mines.. I had it pretty kitted out. Not sure what I'm going to try next, I can see why you picked infection.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.