Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Old > Drox Operative BETA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2012, 04:16 AM
Valgor Valgor is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 600
Default Failing colonisation quests

Colonisation quests automatically fail should the player decide to move the colony module from their installed components into the cargo bay.
It would be better if the quest remained active, but couldn't be solved unless the module is installed when interacting with the planet in question.
Sometimes one needs to swap around components, and the colony modules might get in the way. Besides, why can't the colonists just put their stuff in the cargo bays?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2012, 04:35 AM
kerzain kerzain is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valgor View Post
Colonisation quests automatically fail should the player decide to move the colony module from their installed components into the cargo bay.
It would be better if the quest remained active, but couldn't be solved unless the module is installed when interacting with the planet in question.
Sometimes one needs to swap around components, and the colony modules might get in the way. Besides, why can't the colonists just put their stuff in the cargo bays?
You can't colonize a planet with corpses. You uninstall that module and everybody dies.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2012, 04:39 AM
pnakotus pnakotus is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Default

Maybe the missions should have a minimum player size, since it's a bit silly a tiny ship can replace a huge colony ship anyway. Larger ships - if races waited to offer these quests - also have less trouble fitting the module.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2012, 03:45 PM
Valgor Valgor is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerzain View Post
You can't colonize a planet with corpses. You uninstall that module and everybody dies.
Why? I always thought the module only housed the necessary equipment for colonisation; the colonists should be dwelling in the ship's regular crew quarters...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2012, 05:17 PM
kerzain kerzain is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valgor View Post
Why? I always thought the module only housed the necessary equipment for colonisation; the colonists should be dwelling in the ship's regular crew quarters...
Then... where do the crew sleep? Colony modules should support many, many, many more people than a ship can support crew. Be it stasis chambers, actual living quarters or whatever, the colony module contains the colony.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-19-2012, 05:34 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,060
Default

I think this quest would make more sense as an escort quest.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2012, 10:27 PM
orb's Avatar
orb orb is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluddy View Post
escort quest.
Bane of any game!

Elite (or was it Frontier?) had life support modules which turned cargo bays into living space. Jettison slaves, and you had fertiliser :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2012, 12:42 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluddy View Post
I think this quest would make more sense as an escort quest.
We will probably eventually have escort quests also.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2012, 01:20 PM
keith.lamothe keith.lamothe is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 58
Default

The current mechanic makes sense to me:
1) It's cheaper for the race to build the colony module than to build the whole colony ship, so having the operative carry it is preferable. And more likely to not die.
2) Letting you move the module to the cargo bay and back would defeat the purpose of it taking a slot at all: somewhat impairing your combat ability for the duration of the mission. Particularly if you're trying to run multiple colony quests simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2012, 01:23 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keith.lamothe View Post
The current mechanic makes sense to me:
1) It's cheaper for the race to build the colony module than to build the whole colony ship, so having the operative carry it is preferable. And more likely to not die.
2) Letting you move the module to the cargo bay and back would defeat the purpose of it taking a slot at all: somewhat impairing your combat ability for the duration of the mission. Particularly if you're trying to run multiple colony quests simultaneously.
That's true. Yeah I'm ok with this as it is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.