Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Drox Operative > Drox Operative bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2012, 07:24 PM
knifee knifee is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default Game process starts, but nothing happens...

Hia,
I bought a copy of Drox for a friend of mine and he hasn't been able to get the game to start in windows.

The game installed ok, asked for his key and then nothing happened. Since then whenever he runs the game the droxoperative.exe process starts, but nothing happens.

We have tried reinstalling, installing the demo, deleting all the user settings, copying my settings and still nothing.

Does anyone have any ideas what it might be? or how to fix it?

Thanks,
Knifee.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2012, 10:39 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,113
Default

Some things he might want to try: updated his graphics drivers, update his sound drivers, turn off triple buffering, and turn off ATI tray tool's on-screen-display.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2013, 12:24 PM
Ment Ment is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Hey,

I saw this game and thought it looked like it was worth a try - sadly I experienced the exact same problem in the demo (loading the game 'does nothing', with the DroxOperative process running at full pelt doing nothing).

Anyway, checked the usual - updated graphics drivers, sound drivers, etc etc... No avail...

BUT ... I did hook in a debugger and found that it was stalling on "amdquerypowerxpressdeviceinfo". It's a rough way of diagnosing it but using older ATI graphics drivers have helped. I've rolled back to 8.763 but YMMV.

Again ... the actual cause I'm not 100% sure of (suffice to say, the game WORKS now so I didn't investigate further!) and I've just purchased the game to fully enjoy it now! But it may help someone else having the same stalling issue!

Cheers
Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.