Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Old > Din's Curse BETA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2010, 05:19 PM
viper34j viper34j is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 126
Default Do you think DC would play on a netbook?

I just ordered a Dell Mini10 and I was wondering whether anyone has tried running DC, or any other Soldak games, on a netbook. Do they run at all? Do they run quick enough to be playable?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2010, 05:23 PM
Kruztee's Avatar
Kruztee Kruztee is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 472
Default

Post the specs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2010, 05:49 PM
viper34j viper34j is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 126
Default

1GB3 DDR2 SDRAM4
Intel® NM10 Express
High Definition Audio 2.0
Intel® Atom® Processor N450 (1.66GHz, 512K L2 Cache)

Does DC have a software graphics mode?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2010, 06:02 PM
Archon Archon is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 126
Default

Hello Viper. Not sure although if your gfx card / on board in the netbook can support modest 3d acceleration I think you have a good shot. I was reading the Torchlight forums and some people claimed they could run TL on their netbooks. I can run Din's Curse at 1920x1200 with my Dell Inspiron E1705 purchased a couple years back and I only have a ATI mobility x1400 and I can hardly run any game at that resolution besides Din's with my setup. I think Din's should easily run on your netbook at least at 1024x768 or 1280x720 / 768 modes.

Last edited by Archon : 03-11-2010 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2010, 06:18 PM
Kruztee's Avatar
Kruztee Kruztee is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 472
Default

Yep, the only problem I forsee there is with the display adaptor (not mentioned). Anyway, Soldak doesn't have a problem with installing Din's Curse on multiple computers that you own, you're even free to play LAN MP with the same licence! (check the EULA for exact wording). Test it out and get back to us.

I used to take DoP away with me on trips on an old P4 2.4Ghz laptop with just 512Mb of system RAM and onboard graphics. A little choppy, but ran well enough to enjoy at 1024x768. I'm sure that there have been code optimisations since then because from memory Kivi's ran a lot smoother than DoP on the same setup. Hopefully, Din's will be even better for you.

Last edited by Kruztee : 03-11-2010 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2010, 10:51 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,116
Default

In general our games are a bit rough on the cpu, but fairly nice to the graphics card. Since netbooks usually have more cpu than gpu, it might be possible. If you do try it, tell us how well it works.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.