Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Drox Operative > Drox Operative bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2014, 08:23 AM
RobearGWJ RobearGWJ is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Default Game fails to start

Last Fall, the game stopped working. It may be related to my updating my AMD video drivers, or to a game update or adding the expansion. System is Win 7 64 bit.

I'm running an AMD Radeon 7900 series with 13.251.0.0 drivers. This was updated after the issue appeared and did not fix the problem.

Here are the contents of my log file:
-----
Safe and dependant systems initialized
Database parsed
Graphics system initialized
Opened Generic Software Device
Using 256 sound sources
Sound system initialized
Input initialized
Debug system started
Done initializing
Incorrect format
chatClient string chatText - Chat textchatClient
-----

When I try to start the game, the Windows cursor displays the hourglass for a few seconds, and then goes back to normal. Nothing else occurs.

Thanks for any info.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2014, 11:02 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,816
Default

You could try to move all of your save games somewhere else temporarily and see if that helps.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2014, 11:31 AM
RobearGWJ RobearGWJ is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Default

I have uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times. I also tried the Steam version when it came out, and that does not work. I've tried getting rid of the config file, too, in the user directory, and that did not work. I just tried getting rid of the saved games, and that does not work.

Last edited by RobearGWJ : 02-25-2014 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2014, 04:09 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobearGWJ View Post
I have uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times. I also tried the Steam version when it came out, and that does not work. I've tried getting rid of the config file, too, in the user directory, and that did not work. I just tried getting rid of the saved games, and that does not work.
After moving the save games, do you still get the 'wrong format' line in the log? Because I assume that's what Shadow is referring to -- the game is looking at the last save game and sees a format it cannot recognize.
__________________
My mods: DC Balance mod, DC UI mod, DoP UI mod
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2014, 04:22 PM
RobearGWJ RobearGWJ is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Safe and dependant systems initialized
Database parsed
Graphics system initialized
Opened Generic Software Device
Using 256 sound sources
Sound system initialized
Input initialized
Debug system started
Done initializing
Incorrect format
chatClient string chatText - Chat textchatClient

Looks the same to me, but there are no more saves present in the User directory.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:47 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,816
Default

The Incorrect format is related to the next line of chatClient string chatText - Chat textchatClient

Basically there is bad call to the chatClient command. I'm not sure why that would be.

Do you happen to have any mods installed?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2014, 08:20 AM
RobearGWJ RobearGWJ is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Default

Nope. No mods, nothing. I've cleaned it out and reinstalled several times in the last few months, with the same result.

Maybe I should delete all the files in the User directory? I've already tossed the character info and the saves. What else can go in a reinstall? I assume all of it...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:56 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobearGWJ View Post
Maybe I should delete all the files in the User directory?
That sounds like a good plan.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2014, 04:42 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,816
Default

You should probably also install the latest patch.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:12 PM
RobearGWJ RobearGWJ is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Default

I deleted the Drox Operative directory under the User tree and the game installed and started just fine! Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.