Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2010, 07:43 PM
Amberjoy's Avatar
Amberjoy Amberjoy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Calif.
Posts: 302
Default Bestiary bug Mac?

Ever since I first got the game I've noticed that the 'page turn arrows' don't turn to the next page. I've not tried to get too high a level so it didn't matter as most showed up on page one. However, I'm meeting up with blots, Dark Elf Mages and some other baddies that I can't look up because the arrow keys don't work. Not when I click on them, hold alt, shift or whatever down. Bug? Or am I doing something wrong??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:08 PM
Roswitha Roswitha is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 695
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amberjoy View Post
Ever since I first got the game I've noticed that the 'page turn arrows' don't turn to the next page. I've not tried to get too high a level so it didn't matter as most showed up on page one. However, I'm meeting up with blots, Dark Elf Mages and some other baddies that I can't look up because the arrow keys don't work. Not when I click on them, hold alt, shift or whatever down. Bug? Or am I doing something wrong??
Those aren't page turn arrows. They're to make your character rotate one way or another.

I still think the Bestiary would be more useful if it were alphabetized. That way you could look in the Bs for blots, and not have to scan every single entry until you get to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2010, 12:41 AM
Amberjoy's Avatar
Amberjoy Amberjoy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Calif.
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roswitha View Post
Those aren't page turn arrows. They're to make your character rotate one way or another.
The page turn arrows don't rotate character one way or the other. I still have some blank spaces to be filled on the first page of beasts/bad guys but I faguely remember in the beta you could check the other pages by hitting those arrow keys.

It would be nice if someone listed the various enemy in a listing like, all the various orcs, dark elves, and what's a concealer? I just got that one but can't see it on my Bestiary page.

Quote:
I still think the Bestiary would be more useful if it were alphabetized. That way you could look in the Bs for blots, and not have to scan every single entry until you get to it.
Humm, not a bad idea there.

Finally got currant character to Freedom and 20th level using slow method. Phew! Getting rough there for a while!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2010, 01:23 AM
Roswitha Roswitha is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 695
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amberjoy View Post
The page turn arrows don't rotate character one way or the other. I still have some blank spaces to be filled on the first page of beasts/bad guys but I faguely remember in the beta you could check the other pages by hitting those arrow keys.

It would be nice if someone listed the various enemy in a listing like, all the various orcs, dark elves, and what's a concealer? I just got that one but can't see it on my Bestiary page.

Finally got currant character to Freedom and 20th level using slow method. Phew! Getting rough there for a while!
Congrats!

A concealer is another version of the blot. (I was driving down the highway once and saw a big oil patch on the concrete. My immediate thought was "Oh no, a blot!")

Just to make sure we're talking about the same thing on the Bestiary page. I'm using Windows (v 1.009) but I think Shadow uses the same code base so they should be fairly similar.

When I pull up the Bestiary, there are big blocks of ?s on the top left and top right parts of the page. The bottom half of the page is a text description of the creature and the number of kills and such. Between the two blocks of ?s is a big image of whatever it is that you have selected. To the left and right of the big image are a couple of arrows; those are the arrows I'm referring to. If you click on one, the big image will rotate a few degrees in that direction. I noticed that if I pushed the left or right arrow key, it did the same thing, and if I held one of them down the image would keep turning.

Is there another set of arrows that I'm overlooking?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2010, 03:21 PM
Amberjoy's Avatar
Amberjoy Amberjoy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Calif.
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roswitha View Post
Congrats!

A concealer is another version of the blot. (I was driving down the highway once and saw a big oil patch on the concrete. My immediate thought was "Oh no, a blot!")

Just to make sure we're talking about the same thing on the Bestiary page. I'm using Windows (v 1.009) but I think Shadow uses the same code base so they should be fairly similar.

When I pull up the Bestiary, there are big blocks of ?s on the top left and top right parts of the page. The bottom half of the page is a text description of the creature and the number of kills and such. Between the two blocks of ?s is a big image of whatever it is that you have selected. To the left and right of the big image are a couple of arrows; those are the arrows I'm referring to. If you click on one, the big image will rotate a few degrees in that direction. I noticed that if I pushed the left or right arrow key, it did the same thing, and if I held one of them down the image would keep turning.

Is there another set of arrows that I'm overlooking?
Those are the arrows I was speaking of. Clicking on them with mouse or using keyboard does nothing and has done nothing every since I started the game way back when. The blocks of '?'s' page is the page I ment, yes.

I thought that whole page of '?' had to be filled before page would turn but you say it works on PC, so I guess mine is bugged. Sigh.

LoL for oil patch humor!

Last edited by Amberjoy : 10-21-2010 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2010, 03:43 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,587
Default

Hmm, that's kind of strange. Everything seems to work fine on my Mac.

Even if you hold down the left or right arrow keys, the selected monster doesn't spin around?

Can you click on the different icons to change to different monsters?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2010, 06:07 PM
Amberjoy's Avatar
Amberjoy Amberjoy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Calif.
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
Hmm, that's kind of strange. Everything seems to work fine on my Mac.

Even if you hold down the left or right arrow keys, the selected monster doesn't spin around?

Can you click on the different icons to change to different monsters?
Click on the monster icons and get the write up on them. Sit and watch screen and whatever is on the screen will move around in a circle or click claw or whtever without me doing anything. Click on the arrows on screen or keyboard (as I said) nothing happens. Have just one screen to look at with squares and monsters or '?' If there are other pages with monster squares I can't get to them. My current screen has only 8 squares empty left. This is what got me to thinking about monsters that I've run up against but can't read about and that was the way it was. For a while I thought they were varients of those I had on screen to look at. Shrug.

Do I have to have all squares 'discovered' before page will turn? Humm..just thought of something. Maybe I clicked on something in prefs...okay, just checked and there isn't anything in prefs that might be doing it. If you want a copy of character, what should I zip and send and where?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2010, 10:44 AM
Bak's Avatar
Bak Bak is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 259
Default

On my setup (3-yr old MacBook Pro, C2Duo, 1.009 beta patch), the arrow keys are rotating the monsters, like Shadow mentioned. Clicking the on screen buttons, and using keyboard arrow keys.

You talk about "...before page will turn". It looks like there is only the one page, with the arrow keys purely to rotate the monster doll (to get side and back views).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2010, 12:58 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,587
Default

So the model being show just spins in circles when you don't do anything? It almost sounds like one of your arrow keys is broken.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2010, 06:14 PM
Amberjoy's Avatar
Amberjoy Amberjoy is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Calif.
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
So the model being show just spins in circles when you don't do anything? It almost sounds like one of your arrow keys is broken.
Nope. Just checked by loading up Avernum2 and arrow keys worked there. If it makes any difference the load up screen where you see a character and a monster along with buttons to click that say "Play", "Resume", etc. those figures also move around by them selves as I just sit there and watch the screen. (character trys to hit, monster stomps and grabs)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2021 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.