Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Zombasite > Zombasite
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2016, 04:46 PM
Maledictus's Avatar
Maledictus Maledictus is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haarlem, NH, The Netherlands
Posts: 163
Default System requirements

Hi,

I own and play all soldak games before Zombasite and they all play fine on my old laptop, in full desktop res (1280x800) with all beautification options on. I recently tried the Z demo and it runs at about 5 fps (at 800x600), no matter what I disable. Is so much changed in this incarnation of the game engine that much heavier hardware is required? If so, is there anything I can change (under the hood) in the game that'll make it run better? My GPU is a AMD radeon x1300 128Mb, quite ancient but more than adequate for soldak games, until now. Thanks for any comments.

Last edited by Maledictus : 08-10-2016 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2016, 01:24 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,413
Default

One of the biggest slowdowns is the grass, so you could try turning that option down.

The other thing that can help on a laptop is to set maxfps on the console to something like 15 (try various numbers). Sometimes on laptops it will run hot and the computer will purposely slow down the cpu to generate less heat. Sometimes you can cap it at something that doesn't run hot, but also runs faster.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2016, 05:07 PM
Maledictus's Avatar
Maledictus Maledictus is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Haarlem, NH, The Netherlands
Posts: 163
Default

I tried the new demo and your suggestions but no luck. Running hot is no issue as the laptop is not running on batteries and has all speed management options disabled (i.e. is running at max speed). Too bad, i'll have to wait until I get a new PC to play this one... Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.