Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Depths of Peril > Depths of Peril modding
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2011, 09:00 PM
cheggs cheggs is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default assets001 and assets003, difference?

Hello, I have started modding DoP about 4 days ago, I know some c and c++ and basically alot of programming languages so it wasn't hard for me to get started, i changed the classes and some mechanics etc. However, while i am editing i see assets001 and assets003, i know what 2 is for. But i looked into code, and there is alot more in assets001 than there is 3(I only edit 001 if im editing story or something). but when i edit anything other than story or certain text it doesn't do anything, is there a difference between the two? Another thing i might add, preferably a question for shadow, or anyone that knows, how do you edit the .ctx texture files? Thx in advance

Last edited by cheggs : 09-18-2011 at 09:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2011, 09:02 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,586
Default

assets003 is the data part of the patches. The game uses zips in reverse alphabetical order so all of the files inside of assets003 will override what is in assets001 or assets002.

You really can't modify a ctx directly since no program is going to know the format. However you can tell the game to generate tgas of all of the ctx files by typing buildtgas and hitting enter in the console. A lot of graphics programs like Photoshop can work with tga files. If you do this you will want to move all of the tga files somewhere else though so the game doesn't try to reconvert all of them back to ctx files.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2011, 09:45 PM
cheggs cheggs is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default

thanks shadow, but how would i convert them back? or would i need to?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2011, 09:54 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheggs View Post
thanks shadow, but how would i convert them back? or would i need to?
If you add a tga in any of the texture directories the game will automatically create a ctx file from it when the exe starts up.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Patreon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.