Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse game
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2010, 11:27 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,412
Default Din beta patch 1.003

Beta Patch 1.003 of Din's Curse is now available over on the Din's Curse patch page. Changes can be read here. The big changes: perspective view mode, better shadow option, and new UI graphics.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2010, 11:44 AM
MasterMorality MasterMorality is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 54
Default

Can't install the beta patch on mac - I get "Critical error Couldn't find base BaseItem reference in TeleportStone" when double clicking the application icon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2010, 01:11 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,412
Default

It sounds like you are missing the assets001.zip file for some reason or something else weird is going on. You might want to verify that the 3 asset files are there.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2010, 01:16 PM
MasterMorality MasterMorality is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 54
Default

In the accompanying assets folder when installed there is Assets003.zip and that's it.

Do I manually move that over to the original Assets folder in my regular Dins Curse Folder (Which is in a different place)?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2010, 01:35 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,412
Default

That's what I thought happened. The Mac patcher isn't very smart. It will gladly stick the files in the default directory even if that isn't where you installed it. You need to either tell the patch installer where you put the full game or manually move those files over.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2010, 01:36 PM
dnuggs40 dnuggs40 is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 72
Default

Sweet, nice update can't wait to get home and see the improvements.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2010, 01:37 PM
MasterMorality MasterMorality is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 54
Default

Ah, right, moved them over its all fine now.

Thanks

Edit with some initial thoughts / queries.

It's certainly interesting, but I notice that the minimap doesn't work now, it's always black, and the view distance in extremely limited, appearing in a strange 'blocky' fashion at the edge of the (I assume) vision range.
Also the name tags on things are displaced - the name of an NPC could be several feet away from the actual entity, which is slightly awkward.

I do like the new shadows though, very nice.

I'll add new comments and thoughts when i've played more - this was just from about five minuets of playing (Just to see what was new).

Further comment: The map itself (When you press M) is unusable now - in perspective mode it is zoomed out to degree where you can't see much of any use.

Perspective mode is only really usable in total zoom-in otherwise it's kinda difficult to see things, the same tag displacement and clicking on NPC's is trial and error - seemingly you can click on an enemy or townsperson and it won't highlight, but a centimetre in any direction will highlight things. Sometimes the wrong things which is irritating if you come across a groups of enemies and want to target a specific one to kill first.

Last edited by MasterMorality : 07-22-2010 at 12:57 PM. Reason: More comments.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2010, 03:55 PM
fab fab is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 123
Default

Now that the perspective mode appears to be public, could anyone post a screenshot?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2010, 05:47 PM
fab fab is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 123
Default

Nevermind, I gave up. Just installed my copy and the beta patch.

WOW! The title screen looks much nicer than in the demo!

I'll post my impressions of the perspective mode later.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2010, 07:30 PM
Max_Powers Max_Powers is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 175
Default

Any idea when the patch will work it's way through the impulse game thingie? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.