Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse modding
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2010, 03:10 PM
billiam billiam is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default Mac user, new to DC, and having difficulties modding

Not sure what's wrong. I used to mod DOP on my mac, a few years back. But I've run into probs with DC.

I tried unzipping assets003, moving the old file to desktop, making an archive--rezipping--assets003 and putting it back in my assets folder, and made no other changes. No dice! It won't run at all.

I'm not sure if the unzipping or the rezipping is changing something. Any help advice or insight from mac modders would be much appreciated.

Last edited by billiam : 10-11-2010 at 10:52 PM. Reason: sp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2010, 03:40 PM
billiam billiam is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default I tried copy and it works

I copied assets003, put it in the assets folder, and it worked fine. But once I unarchived-- boom!-- it wouldn't open. So I know it has to be the unzipping or archiving that is causing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2010, 05:48 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,010
Default

Make sure you are zipping up the subdirectories directly (like Database, Loc, Models, etc.) and aren't including an extra level of directories (like assets003).

That's usually what catches people.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2010, 07:30 PM
billiam billiam is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default ok...

So I have to go in all the sub directories and zip them and then zip the entire assets003?

I don't think I included an extra level of directory, as I moved the original to the desktop, if that's what you mean.

I did a crappy fix, unzipped , and using a folder "directory" to raise the points per level fron 5 to 50 and the skills to 12 per level. It works, but I know it's not ideal.

Last edited by billiam : 10-11-2010 at 07:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:30 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,010
Default

You don't have to do each separately. When I do it (in Windows at least), I highlight all of the subdirectories and compress them at the same time into 1 zip file.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.