Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2013, 07:41 PM
Arkblade Arkblade is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Default reproducible CTD in certain situations

hello, Friends and I've been playing this game.
We encountered a reproducible CTD.

Please use the world data to the attached.
and go to 5F, and proceed east/south area, and play.
it will cause a CTD in a very high probability.
(single and multi both. but multi occurs in a very high frequency more)

We share the world data to host the game, and everyone has confirmed this CTD.
We use the Bluddy's balance mod, but this does not seem to influence.
Attached Files
File Type: zip chars(1).zip (25.1 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2013, 02:30 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,977
Default

I believe this is fixed in 1.028 btw.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:44 AM
Arkblade Arkblade is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Default

thanks for update.
but this update coming to steam version?(if it can using "beta" property)
we playing this game on steam. so that looks like not be able to use this update.
(of course, it contain to use "steam achievement")


btw, din's and drox will be can using 2-byte language ? (yes, asian: japanese, chinese...)
if possible, may i think making japanese translation mods.

Games that do not contain the Japanese are not known in japan...
However, the most Japanese publisher is evil.
many imposes severe restrictions on Japanese localization...
eg: purchasing restrict from Japan(we can't buy lot of game on steam and for PC by this...). the price of only Japanese. and more....

Therefore Japanese gamers think paramount that to translate the game as MOD with one's own hands.
if game corresponding to the 2 byte(utf8 or utf16). It will translated by users. and will help game sales.

Last edited by Arkblade : 10-11-2013 at 02:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2013, 08:28 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,977
Default

This patch is not on Steam yet, but it will be when it's out of beta. I believe you could use our patch on the Steam version if you wanted to. You would need to tell the patch installer where Din's Curse is located on your computer though.

The game does have partial double byte support for localization. DC has been translated into Russian, but I'm not sure we have enough support to do Japanese yet.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2013, 08:53 AM
Arkblade Arkblade is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Default

thanks for reply. i'll try to test your method.

it's good to hear already games supported 2 byte.
i try to make fonts using FontGen.exe, but it seem to does not supported many character.
can i using FontGen instead BMFont (http://www.angelcode.com/products/bmfont/)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2013, 11:29 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,977
Default

For the most part you need to use FontGen since we use a pretty specific format. The tga is fairly standard, but there is also a text file that is generated that specifies where all of the characters are.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, & Din's Legacy
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2013, 06:33 PM
Arkblade Arkblade is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Default

hmm... In we do need this?
1. Unicode(UTF8 or UTF16) version FontGen.exe that make font defined by users
2. games allow big font sprite atlas
textures(2048*2048 over)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2013, 06:56 AM
Arkblade Arkblade is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Default

ok, i've just try to some tests.

games already allow big font sprite atlas textures.
but "charIndexes" can't allow exceed 255?

It is very important...
probably Chinese and Japanese requires the "charIndexes" over 9000 !

please help us...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.