Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Depths of Peril > Depths of Peril modding
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2008, 09:59 PM
Priceykins Priceykins is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland
Posts: 3
Default Modding a covenants size?

High all.

Id first Just like to say thank you for the nest game I have played in a long time

Why I am posting is to ask if it would be possible to mod a covenants size, as in to allow say 9 recruits to be hired? or even more? As I have an idea to mod the game so that each covenant has its own town, basically a replica of the main town, just renamed. Would this be possible?

That idea is a goal for the far future, first I have to learn how to actually mod the game First, I have to ask, what language is the game programed with, as I assume ill need to learn it? I have the sdk, and have been reading through, and managed to succsesfully mod my party size to allow me to use all my recruits so far.

Any help will be much appreciated, and once again, fantastic game you have here.
__________________
Push-up Bras - Just False Advertising!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2008, 05:07 AM
Delve Delve is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 606
Default

You won't need to know the programming language that the game was written in. A little general programming background may help, but you won't be getting into the source code.

As to your questions, I'm not sure about covenant size. I'm pretty sure you can't create another town, I seem to recall that being asked before. At least, not one that would have a functional AI covenant house in it.
__________________
//TODO: Insert witty one-liner here.

Last edited by Delve : 06-05-2008 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2008, 09:36 AM
Priceykins Priceykins is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland
Posts: 3
Default

Fair enough about the programming language. As for the town thing, ill check the forums, havent seen it there before, but I probably just missed it, or don't remember it.
__________________
Push-up Bras - Just False Advertising!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:35 AM
Delve Delve is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 606
Default

I think Shadow mentioned you could re-use the town graphics in a new map zone, but you couldn't put vendors or covenants in it. I'd track the thread down but I've got a trillion other things on my desk at the moment.
__________________
//TODO: Insert witty one-liner here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:34 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,444
Default

As for the covenant size, you can change the MaxRecruits parameter in the systems.gdb file. I would backup all of your characters before changing this though since you could break something. Technically you should probably do this any time you start modifying stuff.

I don't know how well it will work if you make the max recruits too high. For example, you might have issues moving around in your house.

As for other towns, I said this in another thread somewhere so I'll just do the quick version. You could build something like a town in another level somewhere, but I don't think you could put NPCs or covenants there.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2008, 08:43 PM
Priceykins Priceykins is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland
Posts: 3
Default

just got round to trying to increase the covenant size to 9 recruits (plus me makes 10), but seems the game doesnt like it as when I try to play a new/saved game after the mod it gives me

error: access violation at 0x0041613b02(tried to write to 0x00000000), program terminated

so seems it breaks the game if you try to increase the covenant size, and ive got no idea why.
__________________
Push-up Bras - Just False Advertising!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2008, 10:19 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,444
Default

I'll look at it and see if it is fixable or not.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-17-2011, 07:43 PM
Draganoth Draganoth is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
As for the covenant size, you can change the MaxRecruits parameter in the systems.gdb file. I would backup all of your characters before changing this though since you could break something. Technically you should probably do this any time you start modifying stuff.

I don't know how well it will work if you make the max recruits too high. For example, you might have issues moving around in your house.

As for other towns, I said this in another thread somewhere so I'll just do the quick version. You could build something like a town in another level somewhere, but I don't think you could put NPCs or covenants there.
You might didn't see it but: There's co÷rdinates put in the vendor positions, I'd say: Copy an NPC and try to put them in an generated town using co÷rds, The problem is it maybe won't fight or talk to you, As it might be hardcoded to the town.
__________________
It sucks an Thief can't steal from mobs...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:48 PM
cheggs cheggs is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default

very old post i know, but it is possible to mod covenant size, i have mine set to 20, i tried 100, just to see what would be going on in the other lvl 100 covenants, and its just a complete mess
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ę 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.