Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Kivi's Underworld > Kivi's Underworld modding
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:15 PM
DetlevH's Avatar
DetlevH DetlevH is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Question How to translate

Just bought it....

How can i translate it? Same way as Depths of Peril?

How can i switch the game language?
__________________
Best regards,

Detlev
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2008, 04:29 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,269
Default

It's mostly the same as DoP was except now the stories directory is in Loc/English.

Once you have multiple directories in the Loc directory, it will give you a choice of which language to use in the upper left corner of the main menu screen.

You should also be able to change the loc_language user var from the console when you are in the game. For example, typing
loc_language English
in the console and hitting enter would change the language to English.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 08:00 AM
DetlevH's Avatar
DetlevH DetlevH is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default Not working

It seems not to work.

I just duplicated the English folder and renamed it to german.

Please copy the attached zip file to the assets folder and try it out.

Seems, there is something wrong here........

After that i deleted the mod_german.zip file and after the restart of Kivi the console shows this error messages (see attached screenshot) and many text is missing

What's wrong here?
Attached Images
File Type: gif Snap1.gif (10.8 KB, 13 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip mod_german.zip (82.9 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Best regards,

Detlev

Last edited by DetlevH : 11-11-2008 at 08:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:07 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,269
Default

Ok, the localization stuff seems to work fine, but the choose language box isn't working with the zip files. It is adding a trailing / to the language names so it isn't changing the language correctly. I will fix this in the first patch.

Setting the language using the console works fine though. At the console use the following commands (depending on which language you want to set of course):
loc_language English
loc_language german
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:17 AM
DetlevH's Avatar
DetlevH DetlevH is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

During playing i get more and more of these error messages in the console (see email before).

Now my game seems to be totally destroyed, even with the deleted mod_german.zip.

I can't use the keyboard anymore.....
__________________
Best regards,

Detlev
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:40 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,269
Default

If you can't change loc_language back to English in the console, just open up User/user.cfg and change it in there. Everything should be back to normal then.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2008, 02:23 AM
DetlevH's Avatar
DetlevH DetlevH is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

Yes, that's true. It works now.

Thanks!
__________________
Best regards,

Detlev
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2008, 06:27 AM
DetlevH's Avatar
DetlevH DetlevH is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

AdventureEpilog4 in global.trn has a trailing s for the Plural.

That's wrong for german.
__________________
Best regards,

Detlev
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:52 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,269
Default

The s is in the text and not the code part so you can safely take that out for the German translation.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2008, 02:06 PM
DetlevH's Avatar
DetlevH DetlevH is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

Shadow, before you release the first patch, please check if every screen text is in the text files under the Loc\[language] folder.

I translated

OneLifeLeft "1 Leben übrig"
XLivesLeft "##1## Leben übrig"

in global.trn but it's still english on the screen.
__________________
Best regards,

Detlev
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.