Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Kivi's Underworld > Kivi's Underworld game
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-01-2009, 11:04 PM
DeathKnight1728's Avatar
DeathKnight1728 DeathKnight1728 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Joisey
Posts: 1,074
Default

It crashes right when i double-click the program on the desktop. If that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-2009, 09:10 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,267
Default

Ok. If you are running Vista, it could be a DEP issue. Look at the manual and follow the instructions in the troubleshooting section.

It's also possible, although hopefully not the case, that your save stuff has been corrupted somehow. You could temporarily move everything out of your User/chars directory and then see if the game loads correctly.

If neither of those works and you haven't already tried this you could uninstall, make sure nothing is left, and then reinstall the game.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-02-2009, 03:46 PM
DeathKnight1728's Avatar
DeathKnight1728 DeathKnight1728 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Joisey
Posts: 1,074
Default

That's the thing, the game was reinstalled when this all happened. Because I wasn't sure why it stopped working a while ago, i uninstalled it like 4 months ago. Now when i reinstalled it that was when this all started going down like last time.


To be frankly honest, I would like to play the game, but i've really tried everything in the manual. I changed the dep to make it not affect kivi.

The only other way that i haven't been able to figure out is how to disable the ati tray tool or whatever it is called. In the manual it states that if you turn off the ati tray tool which is some kind of program on your computer, it should make the game run if it doesn't start in the beginning. However, I would do this, but I have no idea where to start or even what is an ATI Tray Tool.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-02-2009, 07:17 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,267
Default

Did you try moving everything out of User/chars? An uninstall/reinstall won't do this for you.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-2009, 08:24 PM
DeathKnight1728's Avatar
DeathKnight1728 DeathKnight1728 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Joisey
Posts: 1,074
Default

i did, but the only thing was that there was nothing in there to begin with. So i guess it almost has to be the ati tray tool. So how would one go about disabling it like it says to do in the manual?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-02-2009, 10:21 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,267
Default

If you are playing under Vista the real User/chars stuff gets hidden in VirtualStore land so it might not be empty. Should be something like C:\Users\YOUR USER NAME\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\Kivi's Underworld\User\chars

I don't seem to have that option with my ATI card, but here's some instructions I found:

Right click on the tray icon to bring the menu up. Select 'Tools and Options' and then 'On-Screen Display'. Make sure 'Enable OnScreen Display' is off and/or 'Hide' in FPS meter section is on.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-03-2009, 01:05 AM
DeathKnight1728's Avatar
DeathKnight1728 DeathKnight1728 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Joisey
Posts: 1,074
Default

I did as you said and deleted the files in user. Still didn't work. I got lost with the tools and options part however.

I think that this game just isn't going to work no matter what....I appreciate the help though.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-04-2009, 01:50 AM
DeathKnight1728's Avatar
DeathKnight1728 DeathKnight1728 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Joisey
Posts: 1,074
Default

Finally......I figured it out. I downloaded the multiplayer version of the game and it worked fine. I dont know why it took that to make the game work but now it will only play kivis underworld expansion.

I'm glad that the game works though, i would have been very annoyed if it didn't. I guess the only thing that i can say is that in some cases the multiplayer version of the game is more updated therefore it has a greater probability of working.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-04-2009, 05:10 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,267
Default

Hmm, that's strange. The multiplayer expansion is newer than the Kivi base game so it's possible that it fixed something. Although most things that I fixed that weren't multiplayer related I ported back to the base game.

I'm really glad that you got it working though.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.