Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Din's Curse > Din's Curse bugs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2010, 08:08 PM
Hagaar Hagaar is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 61
Question A Weird Thing on the Way to Game...

Hey,

I just redownloaded DC and found the following happen...

1. NO(!!) request for key AFTER installation.

2. The "resume game" button was active.

Okay, the first one's not that much of a biggie... I've seen it happen in other games. BUT(!!) the SECOND is! The game that I am apparently resuming is with a level 8 Priest. I have never, ever, ever played a caster type cuz I simply don't like them. Am I downloading a game... which, btw, is being downloaded from here(!)... that is being used to verify bug reports or have I gotten a link to somebody's game???????

I haven't installed the patch yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2010, 10:45 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,437
Default

Well #1 makes sense if you already had it fully installed and had typed in the key before because the uninstaller doesn't delete the key file.

I have no idea what #2 is all about.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2010, 05:34 PM
Hagaar Hagaar is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 61
Default

@Shadow: I'm not at home atm. Want a savegame?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:12 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,437
Default

Sure. I'm not positive it will tell me anything useful though.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:28 PM
Hagaar Hagaar is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 61
Default

As soon as I get home. I had this occur with another install. It seems wierd to start a game with a savegame already there. PM me for further as needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:16 AM
Hagaar Hagaar is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 61
Default

Shadow, I have reinstalled the game and can NOT locate the AppData\Local\DinsCurse\User\chars folder. What now? I did do a search for it on my drive. Am I using a corrupt DL???????

Shadow... I did a complete reinstall and for whatever reason, the issues I reported have resolved themselves. The only thing that still puzzles me is just why I have the "Resume" button at the start active. This time, I had a level 8 priest, then when I clicked on the resume, the character was NOT seen. About the only thing I could see was some sort of animation and effects. I could move around but NOT interact with foes or any object. I did delete this save and created a new character. seems to be ok. I have both patches installed. Makes one kinda wonder don' it

Last edited by Hagaar : 08-11-2010 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Update to issue
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:36 AM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,437
Default

That's all very strange. I downloaded the latest build and it all checks out fine so I'm really not sure what happened to your install.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2010, 12:35 PM
Hagaar Hagaar is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 61
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
That's all very strange. I downloaded the latest build and it all checks out fine so I'm really not sure what happened to your install.
I don't really know either. I found it very, very odd but since I could simply delete the game/character that's what I did. I *did* find the save folder and would suggest that in the manual that you update it to read that people should have their hidden folders visible. Otherwise, they will not find the folders. I did note that in an earlier install (a couple back I think) that I had around six different characters in the character folder. THAT was strange since installation should not be doing this. Ah well! I'm not having any further issues and have been playing now for a couple of days and am REEEEEEEALY enjoying it! Thanks for building this AND your as well as the community's help!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.