Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Other > Linux
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2014, 11:46 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,250
Default Depths of Peril Linux Demo

We now have a Depths of Peril demo for Linux! If you are a Linux user, go check out the demo now. You can download the demo from the Depths of Peril demo page. We would also love to get feedback on how the demo runs on your specific distribution and what, if anything, you needed to do to get it to work.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2014, 02:10 AM
d10sfan d10sfan is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Default

Just tried this demo and it works up until I try and click Create a World. I'm on Linux Mint 14 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2014, 12:39 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d10sfan View Post
Just tried this demo and it works up until I try and click Create a World. I'm on Linux Mint 14 64-bit.
Does it give any specific error?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2014, 01:25 PM
d10sfan d10sfan is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Default

I get segmentation fault when launching it in Terminal. I can run the same commands you gave me earlier and send you the file if you want
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2014, 01:34 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d10sfan View Post
I get segmentation fault when launching it in Terminal. I can run the same commands you gave me earlier and send you the file if you want
That would be very helpful.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2014, 01:49 PM
d10sfan d10sfan is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Default

Ok, would you mind re-sending the instructions, or replying with them in this thread? I misplaced that email.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2014, 01:57 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,250
Default

I think a core dump would be helpful.
1) Find out what your current core dump setting is, in a terminal do:
ulimit -c
2) Turn on core dump, in a terminal do:
ulimit -c unlimited
3) Crash the game again
4) Hopefully this will create a file called core in the Drox directory. Zip and email me this file. I think this step is only going to work if you have permissions to write to the Drox directory.
5) Put core dump stuff back to normal, in a terminal do:
ulimit -c #
where # is the number that was returned in step 1 (probably 0).

Also after a crash, run this command from a terminal:
dmesg | tail
and email/post the line that says something about Drox.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2014, 02:02 PM
d10sfan d10sfan is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Default

Ok, I've sent emails with a link to the core dump and the dmesg output.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:48 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,250
Default

How often does this segfault happen?
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, & Zombasite
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:53 PM
d10sfan d10sfan is offline
Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Default

It happens every time I click Create new World
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2016 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.