Soldak Home   Drox Operative   Din's Curse   Depths of Peril   Zombasite  

Go Back   Soldak Entertainment Forums > Old > Drox Operative BETA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:24 PM
fotan fotan is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Default Problem with fighting over a planet

Okay here's the issue.


To access a planet, to talk to it, you click on it.


When an enemy comes near you click on them to attack.


The problem is, if you're floating above the planet and you got a full blown war of multiple ships attacking you, you're going to constantly be clicking the planet and bringing a menu up.


So there I am trying to fight 8-10 enemies at once and I'm constantly clicking and exiting the planet menu.


There needs to be a way to fight directly over a planet without worrying about clicking on it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:42 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,442
Default

If you use the hotkey numbers that would probably get around this issue.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:55 PM
fotan fotan is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Lightbulb

ah ok, hadn't thought of that.


Btw, awesome game. I bought it yesterday and have been playing it about ever since. The dynamic content is second to none, and there's just nothing out there like this. The best part is the feeling that absolutely anything could happen at any time.


I've played all your prior games and this is definitely the most fun one you've made and I've put in a ton of hours on Din's Curse.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:59 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,060
Default

You know how in DC you have a modifier key to prevent yourself from moving when you meant to attack, especially a ranged attack? Well since the mouse doesn't mark direct destinations in Drox it's not really an issue. This functionality could be replaced with a 'targeting' modifier key that only shoots ships and doesn't allow you to select anything.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2012, 04:02 PM
( Tchey )'s Avatar
( Tchey ) ( Tchey ) is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 128
Default

Yep. It's much, much easier to fight with the hotkey, even in open space.

I have my main weapon on 1 so i can fire with the mouse if i like it, but i find myself using 99% key sorcut.
__________________
* Errance sur la Terre, de la Laponie à l'Anatolie, et + si affinité... Vagabondance.net *
* Mon blog indécent sur les jeux indé... Jeux1d100.net *
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:10 PM
PixelLord's Avatar
PixelLord PixelLord is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 635
Default

This isn't probably a viable option, but I'd prefer that the only way to attack anything is with the number hotkeys (and the right mouse button). That way new players would be forced to use the hotkeys instead of the left mouse button. This would save a lot of new players frustration. Or at least make the left click attack a game option, but not the default.
__________________
Stephen A. Hornback
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:14 PM
Brian Rubin's Avatar
Brian Rubin Brian Rubin is offline
Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ( Tchey ) View Post
Yep. It's much, much easier to fight with the hotkey, even in open space.

I have my main weapon on 1 so i can fire with the mouse if i like it, but i find myself using 99% key sorcut.
Agreed, I use WASD to move and the keypad numerical keys to fire my own self. Works wonderfully.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:19 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Shadow Shadow is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 9,442
Default

One of things I found in alpha was people being confused that the left mouse button didn't fire, that's why it does now.
__________________
Steven Peeler
Designer/programmer
Depths of Peril, Kivi's Underworld, Din's Curse, Drox Operative, Zombasite, Din's Legacy, & Drox Operative 2
Patreon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:26 PM
PixelLord's Avatar
PixelLord PixelLord is offline
Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 635
Default

Yes, I can see how that might happen, but if the new player starts out using the left mouse button, they are going to want to keep using it out of habit, and unfortunately run into some problems. I think it'd be better to inform the player clearly that the #1 key fires the weapon, and they'll end up having a more enjoyable experience playing the game. As others mentioned, it's the only way to fly.
__________________
Stephen A. Hornback
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:27 PM
Bluddy Bluddy is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
One of things I found in alpha was people being confused that the left mouse button didn't fire, that's why it does now.
Not to mention that Macs often don't have right clicks but have to hold down the option button instead.

Though how about switching it - attacking is something you do all the time, so you could have that remain a left click. But interacting -- things like opening windows to talk to a planet, can be seen as a 'secondary use case'. They could be done with a right click.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 - 2019 Soldak Entertainment, Inc.